Timer

I started writing tonight at 8:40 after my husband told me to stop procrastinating and how could I stay home someday and write if I couldn’t even write now?

Sometimes you need a good push.

I told him to stop me at 9:15. I try to get in a good half hour of writing because once I get in a groove, my fingers fly, and I don’t want to have a stare down with the clock waiting for a hour or whatever to get by. Then I can be proud of myself when I have nights like tonight when I finally look up and it’s 9:40. A hour is very good for writing, yes?

I actually think I could maybe do a little more but I’m trying not to stay up too late or force the thoughts. Although this is the firstest of the first drafts, I am not going for just words. I would like everything to match the plot. I am not doing NaNoWriMo (although I just read about an author whose first two books came out of NaNoWriMo), but I am not editing either until I have (at least) 50,000 words. Would prefer 70,000 but right now I’m just trying to get to 10,000.

Sometimes I want to jump back into my other story which is at 14,590, but that needs to get stripped and rescratched and actually timelined, so another time. After I conquer this 50,000 beast.

Anyway, this week is focused on getting to 15,000. After the writing tonight I considered maybe lowering the bar, but then I thought, well, you never know what tomorrow will bring. Or Thursday with an early work day, so who knows how much writing I will get done. It pays (imaginary money) to stay optimistic.

27% done!

See? Over a quarter way there. We’ll see. Maybe I can hit 15,000 by the end of the week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

