keep it going.

Now that I’ve been decluttering the house, I’m also trying to find ways to clean it up daily. Husband and I both work full time, and I don’t come home until 6:30. Add to that making dinner and eating it as well as having a catch up chat with Husband, and you’re looking at my free time not technically starting til 7:30 at night, depending on what we had for dinner.

Also, part of my job is the following: cleaning up food messes, cleaning up toys, washing walls, washing down high chairs, chairs, and tables, and mopping. All this (except for the last one) happens several times a day. This is in addition to taking care of babies. So when I get home, do I really feel like vacuuming the floors, doing laundry, and cleaning off the kitchen counters/bathroom?

NO.

I really like to just take my nights and unwind — read, watch Netflix, write, and browse blogs. Or hey, hang out with my husband. But since I’ve been doing so well with my decluttering challenge, I decided to challenge myself again — to push aside the tired and laziness and get some cleaning done during the week. That way I’m not grossed out by the apartment or wasting half a Saturday or Sunday cleaning. Especially since we have weekends like this one, when we won’t be home and I won’t have time to clean!

I did okay so far this week, but I also got off easy. Yesterday I had a Development Day at work (got home at 4:30), and today I worked an earlier shift (got home at 3:30). Both days had me getting home with more energy and more motivation to get stuff done. Yesterday I did two loads of laundry and went grocery shopping. Today I did a load of laundry, a load of dishes, picked up the apartment, and made egg salad.

I’m definitely not going to push myself to do many things every night, because then I’ll just feel overwhelmed and kabosh the whole project. Instead, I’m starting out by picking ONE cleaning to do each night — let’s say, clean the toilet/sink in the bathroom, or vacuum the living room/dining room. I’m making the cleaning small, too, so if I have an overwhelming day at work (believe it or not, my job can get stressful), it’ll be something I can do in fifteen minutes before going to relax.

The reason I’m so hell bent on getting this all together NOW is because I’ve never really been in charge of keeping a house clean before, so it’s all brand new to me and definitely taking some practice. Also, I want to stay at home someday so cleaning will become my full time job and I want to get it done in a way that’s easy and not daunting.

One last thing: my car is crazy cluttered. At one point, it looked like I lived in there. Some of it got moved to the trunk, and it’s so bad we have to put groceries in the backseat because there’s no room in the trunk. I’m adding it to my decluttering resolution because we’re taking it to Canada and I don’t want to have a messy car for that long drive!

Leave a Reply

