sunny day.

Today is AWESOME, to say in the least, thanks in no part to the gorgeous (and I guess unseasonable?) weather we’ve been having here in Chicago. I hate how people turn this weather into GLOBAL WARMING when really, there have been other times where the weather has been nice at unexpected times of the year. (Like our Christmas was warm, but it was also that warm 30 years ago so HA!).

Anyway. SUPER exciting news at work! One of the women who I mentioned is very privately trying to have a baby is now getting the green light to get things started, which is SUPER DUPER amazing because she is one of the sweetest people I work with and TOTALLY deserves a baby. She and I agree exactly on how a baby should be raised. Hee hee. We’re both trying to get a copy of Beyond the Sling and whoever gets it first is going to read it and then lend it to the other one.

Also work was great because we were low on babies, so since I switched schedules I got to leave a hour earlier than I was planning! Drove home with the windows DOWN and the radio UP. Now I’m sitting on the front porch as I type this, sweating a little under the sun, getting relief when it goes behind the clouds, but still soaking up this amazing, amazing day. I don’t know when I will be fortunate enough to have work and the weather line up in my favor again.

I’m watching the cars go by and all the people out walking their dogs. If you love dogs, Chicago seems to be THE city to live with them. Despite all the apartments I see more dogs here than I ever did back home in the suburbs. Crazy, right? (Just distracted this dog who was trying to be disciplined by his owner! Once again it was one of the hundreds of husky dogs that live around us!) There is also a (collared) black cat that keeps walking back and forth at the bottom of the steps. Not sure if this is considered bad luck or not, since he KEEPS doing it (plus, the very tip of his tail is white, so there’s that).

As I was driving home I was thinking about the very reused saying that you can’t appreciate the bad without the good, and if there was no winter we’d never enjoy the spring, have to live in the dark to relish in the light, etc. There are a few people that started up this thing saying technically, that’s NOT true, because you can appreciate chocolate without ever knowing about broccoli. You would still love it just as much, even without knowing the unpleasant (to some) taste of the vegetable. I am very, very much simplifying the argument for my own purposes, but the point is that as I was driving home I was like … I really think these people are just trying to be smarty pants and don’t want to just appreciate the trueness of that statement. So true, the entire way home, I was thinking, ‘I was so tired of wearing a coat because it was winter, and I’m glad I can have the window down without freezing in the process, and I can’t wait to sit outside and not be ‘locked up’ inside the house because of bad weather’. I think that if the weather was this gorgeous, every day, I’d understand that it was nice outside, and I would understand that the weather is good, but I would NOT want to embrace it like it was my first born and smother it with kisses of gratitude. Which, essentially, is a personification of my emotions right now. THAT’S how excited I am to be outside. I think the ‘knowing’ that certain things are good and delicious and wanted would be there, but without that opposite, I don’t think the VALUE would be very heavy on certain weather, food, items, etc.

And as I sit here clickety clacking away I understand that all these words are just me trying to get myself to go write because sitting here is begging me to do just that, so I will stop now and abandon my plans to read the magazines and book beside me and just WRITE.

Leave a Reply

