far away.

This past weekend, from Thursday to Monday, Husband was on a trip to Costa Rica. It was really good for him to go down there with his dad and see his brother (who lives there). I had a nice all family weekend, staying over at my parents, hanging out with my sisters, and spending a ton of time with my niece. Husband and I Skyped every night he was gone but it was still great to come home from work Monday night and see him in the apartment.

Speaking of work, we have been swamped. I’ve been working a variety of schedules because of people taking vacations / days off, and I’m pretty much in charge of the infant room, so keeping on top of everything even when I leave early has definitely been tricky. This week is Teacher Appreciation Week, and I happen to work with some entitled people. My boss already bought us lunch and breakfast this week, and we get to wear jeans the next two days (usually we have to wear black pants or khakis). Considering the fact that she doesn’t have to do anything for us at all, I’ve been very impressed with her and grateful. However, my coworkers feel that she should be doing even MORE for us (like getting massages or gift bags for us). It is funny that they feel they deserve these things when we are the LAST center in our district to get our rooms up to code (except for infants; district manager made it clear we are the only room up to code in the building). But of course they don’t want to think about that. They just want stuff.

Have to say that May is flying by. This weekend is Mother’s Day, and then next weekend is TORONTO! I already got new tires on the car, so I just have to finish cleaning it out. I can’t wait to explore the city, and go to the zoo. It’s kind of weird because I LOVE going to other cities and see how other people live — wandering around London aimlessly was my favorite part. Anyway, I was telling this lady at work how we were going to Toronto, and she acted like if we didn’t have family there, there was no point in going. I say what? Anyway, the following weekend is Michigan! Husband and I are going to bike some of the trails — very excited for that as well.

Leave a Reply

