days off.

I haven’t had a night terror since I’ve last written. I go to bed worried every night, but I haven’t had a night terror. So that’s something.

Today I got a day off work, just cause I helped out last week and let my coteacher take one. I’ve been up since 7:15 anyway. I’ve already done two loads of laundry and the third one is in the dryer. I’ve put away clothes and towels, cleaned the tub and toilet, run a load through the dishwasher, and done a cleaning sweep through the apartment. I’ve even taken a shower.

It’s 11:00 in the morning. I’m making myself some lunch, keeping Grey’s Anatomy playing in the background, and I’m researching books for my niece’s birthday present.

It’s so funny. I look forward to and think about days off, and then when they happen I get a million things done in the morning and then just … am for the rest of the day. I remind myself how I could never stay at home all day, every day.

It was the same during the summer when I was in school. I yearned for it all year round, and then when the summer actually came, I did little. I don’t think I’ve ever been one to enjoy endless free time. As I sit here, I glance at the clock and know that my kids are getting changed and ready for lunch. I miss them.

Guh. The baby fever has been getting me lately. We went to Target for odds and ends last night and I passed by the wall of baby onesies and … and guh. My coteacher asked me last week if Husband and I were trying for a baby. I told her no, but the fever inside me whispered I wish …

So I go online and look at more baby stuff and think about what projects I’ll do with my toddler someday and if my kid will know his or her shapes like some of my toddlers do.

Leave a Reply

