big sky, big dream

2012-08-18_1345324354

Sunday Husband and I went to the zoo. We were standing there, watching the bison, and I said, ‘I want to see them out in the open, in the wild.’ There was quiet, and then Husband answered, ‘Let’s go to Montana.’

I don’t think I can accurately convey the desire and excitement that has come over us as we begin the very, very beginning stages of planning for a trip to Montana. I think about Montana at work. I think about Montana in the shower. I woke Husband up in the middle of the night to ask him in what time zone Montana is. Husband researched Montana during his work breaks, and has already talked to his coworkers about it. We talk at night about what we learned, what we want to do, simple logistics.

Of course when we first talked about it, I assumed we’d go in 2014. But as we looked into traveling, lodging, and activities, we realized this wouldn’t be one of our four day weekend trips. This would be a trip of Disney World proportions — something that would cost a lot of money, be a week long, and require a car that doesn’t guzzle gas at 17 mpg. So I think it’s safe to say we’ll be headed out into Big Sky Country in 2015.

But that doesn’t mean we can’t plan now.

I have two dozen websites bookmarked about various hotels, activities, Yellowstone, and planning sites. I’ve already conversed with a Montana planning agent about where we should stay. The rough part of visiting Montana is that everything is at least a hour apart from each other. It’s a beautiful hour drive, but it’s still a hour drive. So I think we’ll end up staying at three different hotels.

I don’t think I’ve been this excited for a vacation since our honeymoon. I loved Toronto, and I’m looking forward to Nashville in June, but there’s something about visiting a place completely unknown. Although a couple of Husband’s coworkers have been to Montana, no one else we know has, so it’s kind of like we’re on our own. I’ve never been out west (Husband’s been to California, Arizona, and Colorado) so it’ll be a brand new experience for me.

I can’t wait.

montanalake

Leave a Reply

