high school weight: mfp

Getting back into My Fitness Pal has been an easier transition than I expected. I’ve streamlined what I’m eating everyday, and though others might find my eating habits ‘boring’ or ‘monotonous’, it keeps me on track and gets me back to what food is: fuel. I also enjoy what I’m eating. During my slump in the early fall, I realized that I was eating my emotions. I was frustrated, stressed, and sad. I haven’t lost this, by the way, hence my complete disappearance from MFP during the week of Thanksgiving. I was freaked out about spending almost the whole weekend with Husband’s family and started Wednesday night with a Portillo’s fully loaded hot dog, cheese fries, and chocolate cake shake.

Yikes.

But my goal is that Monday through Friday I eat really well, and I give myself leeway on the weekends. Does that mean I pig out? I really, really make it a goal not to. But I don’t count calories.

Anyway, it’s been going good. I stick to pastry crisp for breakfast, bistro salad for lunch, and homemade salad for dinner, recently adding soup. I’m really trying to cut out red meat, again, M through F, and only eat chicken or seafood. I cut out pop completely during the week, and really only drink it when we go out. Water has been my go to, and occasionally milk.

Results?

I was 133.8 this morning. I’ve been making it my goal that during the week I only eat 1,000 calories a day. I don’t do it all the time, and I don’t beat myself up if I don’t. But again, I’ve been focusing on using food as fuel. 1,000 calories keeps me pretty full. MFP doesn’t like it, and tells me that daily, but it also hates it when I eat 1,195 calories, or 1,210, so there’s that.

I am now at my high school weight. Husband has never known me this thin. BMI wise, I am at a healthy weight. Now that I’m so close, I think 130 is a really reasonable goal. And going below that? Well, I’ll cross that bridge when I get to 130.

It’s all a bit surreal, but I’m really happy about it all. It’s work, and discipline, but the end result is definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

